Skip to content

I totally stole this idea from P.J. Hoover (by way of Cynthia Leitich Smith)

September 29, 2009

Yesterday, I saw a tweet from CLS  about a blog post P.J. Hoover wrote. (That sentence sounds like it’s written in code.)

The post was about a lack of mother/son book clubs. You can read it right over here, if you want.

I read it and I was all, “Dude. She’s totally right.” Except I said that in my head, because if you say things like that out loud and you’re a 33-year-old lady, people sometimes look at you funny, even if they are people who live with you and are married to you.

(Actually, if I’m being honest here, I did say it out loud. I say things like that out loud all the time. It is an affliction.)

Anyway, this is such a great idea! (The mother/son book club part, not the saying “dude” in your head part – though that IS a good idea if you’re afraid of being judged solely on your intelligence.)

As a mom of a seven-year-old boy who is just now starting to enjoy reading, I think it’s a fantastic idea to get him together with his peers to discuss books. Typically, when he gets together with his friends it immediately turns into a scrum of gangly legs, bruised elbows and shouts for sustenance. I’d love it if, within their scrum, they could talk about what characters they like in a book, or what they didn’t like, or what they think about Cold War symbolism in 80s YA. (Maybe not that last part.)

So I posted a message on a listserv I belong to and I asked if any other mothers out there were interested in getting our pre-tween and tween boys together once a month to talk about a book. The moms can either read the book to their son, or read along with him, and we can all meet at someone’s house for sugary drinks and chats about the awesomeness that is a book.

I got twelve responses, and more are coming in all the time. How thrilling is that?

As a writer of adventurous book that are marketed to middle grade “reluctant readers” I am really excited to jump into this from the other end, too. I would love to Skype into book groups and talk about my books with the kids. Answer questions, ask questions, joke around, try to convey a love for reading to a generation of boys with so much else vying for their attention…

So let me know if you start a book group. If you want to read MIKE STELLAR: NERVES OF STEEL, I am happy to crash the party.

And thanks so much to P.J. Hoover for kicking my brain into gear. Excellent idea.

Our first book group meeting is on 10/25, and we’ll be reading H.I.V.E. by Mark Walden. Woo! I think I might be more excited than the boys are.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 11:29 pm

    Whoo hoo! This is fantastic! I am so happy you’re doing this (and already – you are seriously prompt!)
    And what a great book choice. The boys should love it!

Leave a Reply

