Skip to content

Oops, football, and some talk about writing

October 20, 2009

So!

The school visit went wonderfully well today. There was a brief snafu wherein I locked myself out of the school building, causing myself to have to tromp through some mud and grass and look vaguely like a stalker. And then there was another snafu wherein I had to keep leaning over to grab stuff and didn’t realize there were some cleavage issues. (NOTE: I have never had cleavage issues in my life, except for today. Thanks to the patented iBra for that. For real, that’s what it’s called. Apparently, it has an app for accidental cleavage. This has been duly noted. And profusely apologized for.)

Other than the snafus (which are really par for the course for me as I try to actually become Liz Lemon), the school visit went really well.

I spoke to two fourth grade classrooms at a time. This allowed us to really be able to chat and have a nice long Q&A. They were able to see the Mondrian images on my computer (see post below for info on that), and they got some good glimpses of me in the fourth grade, and the book I wrote when I was ten.

The kids were incredibly well-behaved and listened intently the whole time. They had fantastic questions about how writers get their ideas, and where the character names come from, and how long it takes to get a published, and how to publish a book when you’re a kid. We even talked a little football. Vince Young is struggling, I still have a bit of a crush on Major Applewhite, the Horns really need to work on their offense, and even though I used to live in Florida, I’m not a Gator fan.

I had a great morning at Barton Hills and I hope they will have me back one day. A special shout out to Henry and Jack who helped me find my way back to the front office when the presentation was finished. They filled me in on airplanes, spies, and how awesome it is to eat hamburgers for dinner two nights in a row. (I agree!)

Thanks to everyone for a great day!

***side note: Thanks to reading Libba Bray’s awesome GOING BOVINE, I’ve started saying “wherein” when I should probably never do that. I can’t help it though. I love her chapter headings.***

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 8:22 pm

    So glad it went well! Love the blog!

    • Jenny permalink
      October 20, 2009 10:31 pm

      Finn really enjoyed your visit to his classroom today! He told me alll about it. Except he did not mention the cleavage. And trust me, he mentions everything. So I think you were ok. ;-)

Leave a Reply

