Skip to content

How to decrease blog traffic in 5 days

November 6, 2009

I’ve noticed that in the five days I’ve been blogging my extemporaneous-short-story-a-day extravaganza, my blog traffic has decreased by like, a lot. Hahaha. An excellent way to increase a writer’s self-esteem.

Granted, I don’t actually have any blog traffic, but still. Sorry to alienate five of my six readers! For real, you guys, sorry about that. I know these are not literature level short stories, but they’re not meant to be. They’re meant to be exercises in writing. I write them in one sitting, in usually less than an hour. They’re fast, weird, not great, and fun – not necessarily in that order.

I’ve been worrying a lot lately about how to get the word out about MIKE STELLAR: NERVES OF STEEL. I am thinking that being known for writing silly micro short stories as a test of stamina and willpower might not be a great way to do it. Maybe I should be spending my time spray-painting YOU STINK, SUGAR BEAR and LARC IS CARL SPELLED BACKWARDS on overpasses. Cryptic guerilla marketing for middle grade sci-fi? I might need a better plan than that one, too.

There are nights when I sit here and I truly yearn for success. It’s ironic, too, because I have reached the pinnacle that I always wanted to reach: I have a book published. By Random House, no less. It is a feat I’ve dreamed of since I was a tiny little thing hammering out stories about panthers on my grandfather’s electric typewriter. But now that I’ve reached this goal, I want more.

Ally Carter said something at the Texas Book Festival this past weekend that really resonated with me. I can’t even remember what exactly brought it up, but she talked about wanting to be a writer and wanting to be published and then wanting to be successfully published. There is always that next step.

To have a publisher pay for me to stay in a hotel so that I can go somewhere and talk about my book? I would like that.

For now, though, I will keep writing new books. I will keep writing silly stories. I will keep outlining sequels for MIKE STELLAR, even if they never get written. I will just.keep.writing. And I will keep trying to figure out ways to get my book out there.

I will need to garner more than six readers to discover the answer to these mysteries (well – I will have to woo back five of the readers I have chased away – and then find some more after that). And then I will have to tie them up and force them to read MIKE STELLAR to cleanse their mind grapes (tm Tracy Jordan) after having read all of these short stories. But after that – after that, maybe I will have some answers. Or a reputation for being a crazy writer. All PR is good PR, right?

See there? Lesson 1: learned.

Well,  not really. But “Lesson 1: learned” seems like a nice, definitive way to end an otherwise rambling blog post.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 3:44 am

    silly – it’s also been 5 days since nano started… perhaps the regular traffic is busy writing their 50k?

  2. November 6, 2009 10:02 am

    That’s what I’m doing. I think I’ve commented on maybe two blogs this week. And most of the others I don’t even visit, just scan the posts on my Google Reader

    :)

Leave a Reply

