Skip to content

OK, so things have been a little nuts.

December 15, 2009

A couple of weekends ago I went to this really incredible gathering of children’s book writers. One of the things we talked about was blogging. What is an author trying to accomplish with a blog? What should an author try to accomplish? Are blogs mainly for self-promotion, for discussing our craft, for connecting with other authors? Do they reach out to our readers, too? And when we do blog as authors, how much of our personal life do we talk about?

All great questions, and none of them have black and white answers. I mean, it all kind of depends on who you are as a writer, right? Sometimes you start a blog, not with a goal of self-promotion, but just as a way to clear your head. This doesn’t mean you can’t use your blog to promote your work, but it just serves a wider purpose.

I don’t think there’s a wrong way to do it (other than the way I’ve been doing it lately – which is not at all). That’s the great thing about having a blog. You can mold it to your personality and use it for whatever you need.

This is all the long way of me saying that I don’t know what this blog is for me. It’s separate from my other blog, where I talk about being a mom and I use bad language and I discuss the ills of the world and things like that. But the more I think about it, the harder it is to differentiate between myself as a writer and myself as everything else. Being a writer is who I am. And yet, this blog still doesn’t seem the place to talk about what I made for dinner and what I yelled at the guy who cut me off on my way to Target earlier this afternoon.

On the other hand, it feels like some things in my life have such great bearing on my daily goings-on, that keeping them from this blog is nearing impossible. Just like in my other blog I often talk about my books or about writing, I’m finding that in this blog there are going to be times when the various parts of my life intersect and I need to talk about them here.

One of the reasons it’s been such a long time since I’ve posted on this blog is because it’s been a long time since I’ve had a chance to sit down and write. My youngest son is medically fragile. He is 15-months old and has a tracheostomy. He’s an amazing kid, and he is the light of all our lives – mine, my husband’s, my oldest son’s and my daughter’s (though she may not realize it yet!). Lately, though, I have been thinking that if you have a medically fragile kiddo who qualifies for Medicaid, you should also qualify for an executive assistant to help you manage all of the Medicaid stuff. Mounds of paperwork, phone calls, doctor visits, blah blah. I am finding that even with a full-time nurse at out house, much of my day is spent managing the care of my son. It is not something I resent, it is not something I hate, it’s something I do for him out of love and respect and admiration and longing that the things I do and arrange and discuss are things that will help him get better.

This is all probably too personal for a writer blog. It’s not about middle grade sci-fi, it’s not about marketing or anything like that, but I feel that my readers should have a little background if I ever discuss my day and our nurse comes into the conversation. Or if there’s a reference to spending a week in the hospital, or something like that.

It’s not something I plan to blog about here, I’ll save it for my other blog. But because it is impossible to separate one’s writing life from one’s life life I just thought I would warn you.

This guy’s a pretty big deal around here, and he finds his way into just about every conversation. Even when they’re about space ships and zombies and time machine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 12:50 am

    And he’s darling! Sweet little guy!

    My son is loving MIKE STELLAR, btw!

  2. December 16, 2009 8:43 am

    Glad you’re both back! Thanks for sharing the pic. He’s a sweetie! (And I have a close friend who does the Medicaid scene with her kid and she tells me too, it’s a full time job!)

  3. lizgartonscanlon permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:30 am

    Nope. Not too personal. Spot on.
    Sending love to you all…

  4. Denise permalink
    December 26, 2009 9:48 pm

    Two words: The Golden Notebook. OK, three words, but “the” is a throwaway.

    We all live our lives in pieces, various parallel and intersecting tracts, until the planets or gods 0r god-knows-what align and we are able to pull all of the pieces together into a workable whole of self. I’m guessing that The Golden Notebook (Doris Lessing, if it’s not already familiar) might be a ponderous read these days, but the ultimate message of hope and wholeness are heartening.

    Until that astronomical alignment occurs, know that lots of us are pulling for you.

Leave a Reply

