Skip to content

Lost momentum vs. writer’s block

March 9, 2010

I'm sitting here today trying to squeeze in the littlest bit of writing between school pick up and speech therapy visits and orienting a new nurse for Ike (a new nurse who will probably not be coming back, depending on my patience level).

As you can imagine, it's hard to concentrate. And even harder to write when it has to come in bursts of five minutes here and there. I don't think writing a novel is conducive to these one-sentence writing bursts. But if I don't write like this, it might be a full day before I have time to write again, and I have ideas, man. Ideas!

So what is a writer to do? Things are disjointed when I can only write a sentence at a time. But then, if I stop writing and wait until I have a block of time, I lose momentum. Suddenly, it's three days later, and I have time, but I'm staring at my manuscript and I'm not sure what's heads or tails. I lose the excitement of the moment and the feel for the character. This means I end up staring at a page and not writing anything. Not really a block, but a sigh. "I was doing so well, and now I don't know if I can capture the moment again."

I don't think I'm really really looking for a solution, because I don't think there is a solution, unless someone can invent a time-slowing machine, or give me a gift certificate for Mary Poppins. But it's frustrating, you know? Writerus Interruptus. Hmph.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. E. Kristin Anderson permalink
    March 9, 2010 8:13 pm

    I posted a blog on my loss of momentum yesterday. It’s frustrating, but I can’t imagine writing a book with three kids in my care! (Even if they are some pretty awesome kids.) Maybe this is why two of your books are written in haiku? You have adapted to your surroundings like some sort of wild jungle woman. I hope the nurse survives. I am sending good writing and childcare vibes and I will see you tomorrow!

  2. March 9, 2010 9:11 pm

    Clearly you should just sell your kids to some nice family. Then you’d have uninterrupted writing time and a little extra cash to boot. There, problem solved!Honestly, though, not sure how you moms do it. I’ve been dog-sitting for the last few weeks, and even THAT has really impacted my ability to write. When I used to work crazy-pants hours, I would squeeze writing in a sentence here or there. It was frustrating, but I still got there eventually. I wish there was a solution!

Leave a Reply

