Skip to content

The step stool started it all

March 8, 2011

This step stool is only for standing on
Or so says my grouchy mom
But if I flip it over
Like a brand new quarter
It becomes a hovercraft
That transports the cat
To the mysterious land of blue

The marker was just laying there
On the floor by dad’s old chair
Why not pick it up and draw?
That’s what markers are for, after all.
Now the kitchen is a spaceship
Chasing us through a spacetime rip
To the mysterious land of blue

The step stool takes a dive
The cat falls off, losing his ride
Hovercrafts don’t work in space
I’d forgotten that was the case
Now there’s nothing to transport us
Except this ugly old school bus
To the mysterious land of blue

I grab the cat and stuff him inside
We buckle up, prepared for flight.
As we hurtle through the spacetime rip
I hear Mom yell from a far off clip
The vacuum of space drowns her out
Even though she’s starting to shout
About the mysterious land of blue

Suddenly, our ride’s complete
A space monster has grabbed my feet
Sucked me into a big black hole
Threatened no ice cream for my dessert bowl
The cat runs away, a big furry wimp
I take the mop, damp and limp
And wash away the land of blue

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

