Skip to content

New book deal!

April 1, 2011

It’s been killing me to keep this a secret. KILLING ME. But I finally got the OK to spread the word, so here goes…

I’m going to write a YA sequel to Gone With the Wind. WHAT?! I KNOW! We just secured approval from Margaret Mitchell’s estate, and the book is slated to be published in fall 2013 by McSweeney’s McMullens, the new McSweeney’s imprint for children’s books.

The book is a (historical!) post-apocalyptic dystopian thriller about living in the throes of post-war chaos and trying to find a place to survive in a new, unfamiliar, government-controlled (aka Reconstruction) town. The main character is Ella Kennedy, Scarlett’s daughter from her marriage to Frank Kennedy. Ella’s sickly brother Wade and her fiery-tempered cousin Beau are also major characters. These are teens struggling to survive in a new, dangerous, world. They’re trying to fit in, but desperate to make their own opinions about the politics of the day, and they’re also alternately supporting and rebelling against Katie Scarlett O’Hara Hamilton Kennedy Butler, who has become quite a force to be reckoned with in her shrewd old age.

When I was a teen, I read Gone With the Wind over and over again, and while it’s always been a controversial book, it’s been a book close to my heart. There are passages I have memorized, passages I’ve underlined and reread from the time I was 14. Now to finally have the chance to add to the history of this book… it’s just unthinkable.

I cannot WAIT until you guys can read some of this manuscript. I’ve been working on it day and night. And in my dreams. Because of course this is not a real book deal, it’s just an April fool’s prank I’m writing in the coffee shop when I should really be working on something more constructive. :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. E. Kristin Anderson permalink
    April 1, 2011 3:47 pm

    Best. Ever. Now I have to go read Gone With the Wind so that I’ll be ready!

Leave a Reply

